Tests · 7 providers publish prices · checked 21 Oct 2026
VO2 max test: what it costs and what the evidence says
Published prices for a VO2 max test run US$250 in the United States (1 price), £650 in the United Kingdom (1 price) and €300 in Germany (1 price). Our evidence label for it is Established. Recommended in clinical guidelines for defined uses.
VO2 max is the most oxygen your body can use during hard exercise. It is a measure of how fit your heart and lungs are. In a lab test you pedal a bike, or walk or run on a treadmill, and it gets harder until you cannot go on. You wear a mask that measures the air you breathe in and out, and staff track your heart with an ECG. Hospitals call this a cardiopulmonary exercise test, or CPET (Royal Devon NHS).
Lab test or watch estimate. Many sports watches show a VO2 max figure. They estimate it with a formula; they do not measure the air you breathe. A 2022 review found that watch estimates made during exercise were close on average across groups of people, but could be far off for one person. Estimates made at rest tended to be too high. The American Heart Association calls the lab test with a mask the "gold standard". It says estimates made without an exercise test should not replace a real test.
Safety. The test means working as hard as you can. NHS patient information says serious problems are rare, and that staff stop the test if warning signs appear (East Lancashire NHS). People who have had a recent heart attack or stroke, or a recent illness, may need to wait or may not be able to have it.
What the evidence says
Fitness is closely linked to how long people live. In a 2018 study of more than 122,000 US adults who did a treadmill test, the least fit group had about five times the risk of dying during follow-up of the fittest group. That study estimated fitness from treadmill speed and slope, not with a mask. In 2016 the American Heart Association said fitness predicts death as strongly as smoking does, and made the case for treating it as a "vital sign" in clinics, like blood pressure. These studies show a link between fitness and survival. They do not show that having the test, by itself, improves health.
Hospitals use the full lab test for defined medical reasons. These include looking into symptoms, assessing a known heart or lung condition, and checking fitness before some operations to help plan care (Royal Devon NHS).
Established means: Recommended in clinical guidelines for defined uses.
Published prices
| Provider | Item | What is included | Time | Price | About US$ |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| REVĪVŌ Vitality CentreBali, Indonesia | VO2 Max Testing | Not stated with the price | 45 min | IDR 1,450,000 | 81 |
| Evolve LongevityMiami, United States | VO2 Max Testing | Not stated with the price | 20 min | US$250 | – |
| MeasureUp Pitt Street LabSydney, Australia | VO2 max test | Not stated with the price | – | A$395 | 276 |
| Progressive Longevity ClinicSydney, Australia | VO2 Max Testing with Exercise Physiologist | Not stated with the price | – | A$400 | 279 |
| The Longevity PracticeBerlin, Germany | VO2Max / Maximal Aerobic Capacity TestEstimate (doctors' fee rules apply) | In person only | 60 min | €300 | 336 |
| EverlabMelbourne, Australia | Physical & Vo2Max | Not stated with the price | – | A$499 | 349 |
| Lanserhof at The Arts ClubLondon, United Kingdom | Vo2 Max Testing with Exercise PrescriptionPrice list dated October 2024 | Not stated with the price | – | £650 | 868 |
From each provider's own price page, checked 21 Oct 2026. A brand-wide price is shown once per site. US dollars at the ECB rate of 20 Oct 2026, for comparison only.
By country
Questions to ask before you book
- Is the test done with a mask that measures the air I breathe, or is it an estimate?
- Who supervises the test, and is a doctor on hand?
- Should I avoid food, caffeine or exercise before the test, and should I keep taking my usual medicines?
- Will I get my result as a figure, with an explanation of how it compares with people of my age and sex?
- Is a repeat test included, and will it be done on the same equipment in the same way?
Related tests
Whole-body MRIUNPROVENMulti-cancer blood testEMERGINGBiological age testEMERGINGDEXA scanESTABLISHEDCoronary calcium scoreESTABLISHEDAdvanced blood testsESTABLISHEDCompare VO2 max test prices across marketsClinics that offer it
Sources
- American Heart Association: Importance of assessing cardiorespiratory fitness in clinical practice: a case for fitness as a clinical vital sign. Circulation, 2016
- Mandsager K and others: Association of cardiorespiratory fitness with long-term mortality among adults undergoing exercise treadmill testing. JAMA Network Open, 2018
- Molina-Garcia P and others: Validity of estimating the maximal oxygen consumption by consumer wearables: a systematic review with meta-analysis. Sports Medicine, 2022
- Royal Devon University Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust: cardiopulmonary exercise testing, patient leaflet, 2023
- East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust: cardiopulmonary exercise test, patient information